The authors included in issue 1 are:

Robert Tracy is emeritus Professor at the University of California, Berkeley. He has written extensively on Irish literature, including early material in the Irish language as well as Irish literature in English; Irish history and folklore; Victorian fiction, and Russian literary relations with Ireland and Britain.

Anne Enright (b. 1962) has written four novels, short stories, a non-fiction book and essays. Her novel, The Gathering, won the 2007 Man Booker Prize. In 2011 she edited The Granta Book of the Irish Short Story. Read more here

Hugo Hamilton (b. 1953) is the author of two memoirs, seven novels and one collection of short stories. The Speckled People, a German-Irish memoir of growing up in Dublin during the 50s/60s, has won prizes in France and Italy, and appeared on The New York Times notable books list. It was adopted for theatre in 2011. Read more here

Colum McCann (b. 1965) is the award-winning author of five novels and two collections of short stories. His most recent novel, Let the Great World Spin, won worldwide acclaim, including the 2009 National Book Award in the U.S, the 2010 Best Foreign Novel Award in China, the 2011 International Impac Award, as well as a 2011 literary award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Read more here

Claire Keegan (b.1968) won the Los Angeles Times Book of the Year for Antarctica, her first collection of stories. Her second, Walk the Blue Fields, was Richard Ford’s book of the year. The stories have won several awards. Read more here

Kevin Barry (b. 1969) won the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature for his short story collection There are Little Kingdoms. In 2011 he released his debut novel City of Bohane. Read more here

Deirdre Madden (b. 1960) has published seven novels and two novels for children. She has won several awards, including the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, the Somerset Maugham Award and the Hennessy Award. Read more here

Abraham “Bram” Stoker (1847-1912) was an Irish novelist and short story writer best known today for his 1897 Gothic novel Dracula. During his lifetime, he was better known as personal assistant of actor Henry Irving and business manager of the Lyceum Theatre in London.

Patrick Kavanagh (1904-1967) was a leading Irish poet of the last century. His long poem, “The Great Hunger”, and his novel, Tarry Flynn, have both been adopted for theatre. Read more here

Thomas Kilroy (b. 1934) is a leading Irish playwright and novelist whose work has won many awards, including The Guardian Fiction Prize in 1971 and the Heinemann Award in 1972. In the late 1980s he was director of the Field Day Theatre Company. At the Irish Times/ESB Theatre Awards, 2004, he was presented with a Special Achievement Award for his contribution to theatre. Read more here

Paul Durcan (b. 1944) is one of Ireland’s leading poets. His first collection, O Westport in the Light of Asia Minor, won the Patrick Kavanagh Award in 1975. Since then, he has won several awards, including the Irish American Cultural Institute Poetry Award, The Whitbread Prize and the London Poetry Book Society choice. Read more here

Gerald Dawe (b. 1952) is a poet and critic. He has won several awards for his work, including the Macaulay Fellowship in Literature and the Ledig-Rowholt International Writers’ Award. His poetry collections include Lake Geneva and Points West. Read more here

Nell Regan’s (b. 1969) collections include Preparing for Spring and Bound for Home (in conjunction with the artist Monica Boyle). Read more here

Philip McDonagh’s (b. 1952) collections include Carraroe in Saxony and The Song the Oriole Sang. He is currently Irish Ambassador to Russia. Read more here

Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin’s (b. 1942) first collection won the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award in 1973. In 2010 her collection The Sun-fish was the winner of the Canadian-based International Griffin Poetry Prize and was shortlisted for the Poetry Now Award. Read more here

Pádraic Fiacc’s (b. 1924) first collection of poetry, Woe to the Boy, won the AE Memorial Prize in 1957. He edited The Wearing of the Black, a 1974 anthology about Northern Ireland that provoked significant public debate. In 1981 he received a Poetry Ireland Award. Read more here

Peter Sirr’s (b. 1960) collections include Selected Poems and Nonetheless. He was the first Director of the Irish Writers’ Centre and has been editor of Poetry Ireland Review. Read more here

Aifric Mac Aodha’s (b. 1974) first collection, Gabháil Syrinx (The Capture of Syrinx) was published in 2010. Her work has appeared in several publications and won many prizes. Read more here

Máirtín Ó Direáin (1910-1988), from Inis Mór in the Aran Islands, was among the most influential Irish-language poets of the last century. Na Dánta — Máirtín Ó Direáin 1910- 2010, features his collected poems. Read more here

Caitríona Ní Chléirchín’s (b. 1978) first collection Crithloinnir (Shimmer) won first prize in the Oireachtas competition for new writers 2010. Her work has appeared in numerous publications. Read more here

Marina Carr (b. 1964) is one of Ireland’s leading playwrights. Recent plays include By the Bog of Cats (1998), On Raftery’s Hill (2000), and Ariel (2002). Awards include the Macaulay Fellowship, American Ireland Fund, E. M. Foster prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the Susan Smith-Blackburn prize. Read more here